在抢修复数字身份, UPORT是一个项目,观看

在抢修复数字身份, UPORT是一个项目,观看

交谈任意三个blockchain企业家, 并且其中至少有一个将场上的方式为互联网用户拥有自己的数据.

雅虎最近的隐私权的惨败, Equifax公司和Facebook都赶回家的实现,只要有智能手机走, 说, 搜索, 吃, 发帖, 浏览饲料为广告商, 机器学习算法和盗贼. 而且,用户既不控制这个数据也没有得到任何赔偿放弃它.

然而, blockchain发烧 - 在同一时间,因为这数据清醒进入主流 - 似乎提供了一种解毒剂, 和分布式应用皮疹出现,以帮助用户赚钱的数据.

使用加密技术,如公私密钥对, 这些项目的目的是让数字服务用户控制他们产生的数据, 多次提供一个交易平台,用户可以做的事情一样出卖自己的Yelp的书签广告客户几块钱’ 值得cryptocurrency的.

但球队在UPORT, 基于复仇身份协议, 一个更大的奖金后会.

而不是问, “我怎样才能得到报酬我的数据?” UPORT旨在回答, “我是谁,在数字时代?”

对于鲁文·赫克, 联合创始人和项目负责人在UPORT, 这是不是那种问题可以只用另一个应用程序来回答. 因为互联网不是用嵌入身份认证层建, 赫克说, 调整互联网的顶部 - 应用层 - 只是不削减它.

宁, 互联网需要在更深的层次来重建, 并根据哎呀, UPORT旨在做到这一点:

“我们相信,我们现在拥有的技术,使我们能够建立这个横跨互联网......一个水平层不拥有并从单个公司的控制。”

这种野心导致UPORT - 复仇启动和孵化器ConsenSys伞下的最古老的项目之一 - 被视为最令人兴奋的基于blockchain的办法之一,用户合理化’ 零落, 不安全的数字身份.

身份的互联网

这是值得注意的是,UPORT已经成功地吸引感兴趣的显著量尽管不是专注于最终用户.

据丹尼·朱克曼, 战略和运营的UPORT的头, 最好是分散的一个 - 项目来自全国各地的复仇开发者社区持续呼吁的身份出现系统, 给予复仇的根本使命.

有了这样的背景, UPORT决定,最好的办法是给开发人员提供一种方式来委托通过存储在blockchain用户特定数据的任务, 赫克说, “整合的几行代码到你的应用程序。”

但是, 它不一定是安全的假设,UPORT只会埋在分布式应用’ 内脏, 从最终用户隐藏.

“将有大量的用户交互的方式不同,” 朱克曼说:, 因为 “它是真正的互联网这个身份层, 而且也没有你与互联网交互的一种方式。”

要解释什么是通过在网上的身份层意思, 祖克曼开始与 “自上而下的机制” 模拟世界, 政府在其中定义的方式有限的个人身份: 护照号码, 一个身份证号码, 社会安全号码, 驾驶执照号码. 具体情况取决于管辖, 但大多数人有一个或两个主要, 官方认可的标识符.

该网站, 相比之下, 是一个免费为所有.

“随着互联网有开始被各种其他身份系统, 典型的用户名和密码 - 基本上什么,你确定你是谁,创建一个帐户 - 所以有很多的这种扩散, 众多的身份,” 朱克曼说. “并且开始有在许多不同的地方拍摄的用户数据, 没有他们的控制之下。”

而对于许多blockchain爱好者, 这只是没有任何意义. 一方面, 这些多重身份的挑战,给大家指指点点 (而不受安全闪失). 另一方面, 允许单, 集中党接管数字身份并不理想要么.

宁, UPORT的想法是把用户负责控股和, 如果他们选择, 分享与他们的身份相关的数据, 使用相同的密码协议,允许他们控制cryptocurrency无需第三方. 而这一目标被频繁调用 “自主权身份.”

拥挤的空间

的UPort远未走向自我主权认同的目标而努力利用blockchain技术的唯一项目.

该Sovrin基金会是UPORT的比赛中最突出的例子之一.

该基金会是项目背后印, 一组身份的工具 推出 去年受Hyperledger财团. 相较于公, permissionless UPORT, 印是一种混合: 任何人都可以查看分类帐, 但写它 需要许可. 此外,与UPORT, 项目是印 规划 一个ICO.

思域, 哪一个 计划 今年晚些时候全面推出其身份平台上RSK, 层二比特币的智能平台合同, 近期上调 $30 百万在ICO.

微软和埃森哲有 亮相 使用私人身份原型, 复仇的权限的版本.

与此同时, 公共复仇网络开发商正在为标记化身份标准. 所谓的ERC-725, 该标准是 带头 由费边Vogelsteller, 其供电的吊杆在加密的令牌的crowdsale的ERC-20标准的创建者.

最后, 球队在数字集市 - 这一直与万维网联盟, 一个标准组织 - 有 推出 实验 “体液” 基于blockchain身份解决方案的版本叫的VERes一. 像UPORT, 它是公共, permissionless,缺乏它自己的令牌. 不同于基于复仇,UPORT, 然而, 它是一个独立的blockchain.

拥有所有这些不同的风险, 相互竞争的标准基于blockchain认同的是,他们将重新创建当前系统: 分散,孤立.

但是,这些项目大部分’ 球队, 包括UPORT的, 意识到风险和不同标准机构合作,试图建立一个可互操作的系统. 的UPort, 例如, 加入分散身份验证基础 - 包括大牌如微软和埃森哲, 等等 - 为了开发每个人的标准.

哎呀援引微信的例子强调互操作性的重要性, 的WhatsApp和Facebook Messenger的. 令人印象深刻,因为这些短信应用’ userbases是, 他说, “没有什么已经取代电子邮件。”

原因, 他继续, 就是它:

“电子邮件是其在世界各地工作的唯一通用的东西. 您可以从任何地方发送电子邮件给任何人. 每个人都有东西是兼容的。”

试图单干只是不良商家, 他加了, 话, “没有解决方案,认为他们现在正在赢得因为他们是早期,如果他们不是在一个共同的标准将获胜。”

动量和路障

虽然所有这些解决方案在过去一年取得的进展显著, UPORT在其他各种整组潜在的合作伙伴和客户的 “辐条” ConsenSys的. 其中一个辐条, VIANT, 目前整合UPORT, 而其他人 - 包括OpenLaw, Meridio与公民 - 正在计划这样做.

泰勒Mulvihill, Viant的联合创始人, 该公司计划到现场与它的基于复仇,供应链平台,今年, 告诉CoinDesk,使用UPORT作为其身份的解决办法是 “一个非常简单的决定,” 这不仅是因为ConsenSys连接, 但是因为 “他们正成为自我主权认同的空间。”

直觉, 这是纺出ConsenSys的市场预测, 二手UPORT验证每个用户只提交一个进入其奥林匹亚赛.

ConsenSys之外, Melonport, 总部设在楚格分散的资产管理公司, 瑞士, 使用UPORT进行了解你的客户和反洗钱 (KYC / AML) 检查.

但UPORT的最显着的合作伙伴是楚格本身的政府, 其导通的导频方案来注册公民’ 在复仇的ID. 第一个注册表年11月完成, 现在总的是在 200. 市政府随后 公布 上周使用UPORT投票试点.

另一名飞行员, 其中UPORT和微软与巴西计划部合作,核实公证文件, 开始 在六月 2017. 据哎呀, 更多的这种伙伴关系可以遵循.

“我们谈论到其他城市和政府的时刻 - 他们没有,我们可以在这一点谈,” 他告诉CoinDesk.

在许多方面, 虽然, UPORT还有很长的路要走.

那唠叨复仇生态系统作为一个整体同样的问题也可以使前进的方向不确定的UPORT. 如何扩大网络以实现更快和更便宜的交易是 主要障碍.

同样重要的 - 可以说是更使, 鉴于UPORT注重身份 - 是如何保护用户的问题’ 使用像一个复仇的时候blockchain隐私, 这是所有人都看得到.

“透明度blockchain显然是一个功能,” 赛义德·祖克曼, “但是,当涉及到的个人数据和身份数据是一个责任。”

最后, 还有谁失去了自己的私钥会发生什么给用户的问题, 有了它, 想必, 在其数字生活的控制. 的UPort探索了不同的解决问题的对策, 首先是指定的朋友谁可以共同担保一个人,在传输丢失的ID的数据到一个新的公共密钥. 这是一个特定的复仇的解决方案, 虽然; 该小组目前工作的一个blockchain无关的一个.

但仍, 即使有这些障碍, UPORT已与它的主要目标没有问题, 有说服力的开发人员使用其平台在其应用程序. 哎呀总结:

“人到我们这里来。”

镜子 通过存在Shutterstock图片

在blockchain新闻领导者, CoinDesk是争取最高的新闻标准,并通过遵守媒体插座 严格的一套编辑政策. CoinDesk是数字货币集团的独立运营子公司, 投资于cryptocurrencies和blockchain新创.

HTTPS://www.coindesk.com/scramble-fix-digital-identity-uport-project-watch/

请关注并喜欢我们:

发表评论

本网站使用的Akismet,以减少垃圾邮件. 了解您的意见如何处理数据.

In the Scramble to Fix Digital Identity, uPort Is a Project to Watch

In the Scramble to Fix Digital Identity, uPort Is a Project to Watch

USI Tech easiest passive bitcoin investment

Talk to any three blockchain entrepreneurs, and at least one of them will pitch a way for internet users to own their own data.

Recent privacy debacles at Yahoo, Equifax and Facebook have driven home the realization that anyone with a smartphone is walking, talking, searching, eating, posting, browsing fodder for advertisers, machine learning algorithms and thieves. And users neither control this data nor receive any compensation for giving it up.

Yet, blockchain fever – entering the mainstream at the same time as this data sobriety – appears to provide an antidote, and a rash of decentralized applications has appeared to help users monetize their data.

Using cryptographic technology such as public-private key pairs, such projects aim to let users of digital services control the data they produce, many times offering a marketplace where users can do things like selling their Yelp bookmarks to an advertiser for a few bucks’ worth of cryptocurrency.

But the team at uPort, an ethereum-based identity protocol, is going after a bigger prize.

Rather than ask, “How can I get paid for my data?” uPort aims to answer, “Who am I in the digital age?”

For Reuven Heck, co-founder and project lead at uPort, this isn’t the kind of problem that can be answered with just another app. Because the internet wasn’t built with an identity layer embedded, Heck said, tweaking the top of the internet – the application layer – just isn’t cutting it.

Rather, the internet needs to be rebuilt at a deeper level, and according to Heck, uPort aims to do just that:

“We believe we now have technology that allows us to build this as a horizontal layer across the internet … without being owned and controlled from an individual company.”

That ambition has led uPort – among the oldest projects under the umbrella of ethereum startup and incubator ConsenSys – to be regarded as one of the most exciting blockchain-based approaches to rationalizing users’ scattered, insecure digital identities.

The internet of identity

It’s notable that uPort has managed to attract a significant amount of interest despite not being focused on the end users.

According to Danny Zuckerman, uPort’s head of strategy and operations, the project emerged from persistent calls across the ethereum developer community for an identity system – preferably a decentralized one, given ethereum’s fundamental mission.

With that background, uPort decided the best approach was to give developers with a way to delegate the task of storing user-specific data on the blockchain by, Heck said, “integrating a few lines of code into your application.”

And yet, it’s not necessarily safe to assume that uPort will only be buried in decentralized applications’ innards, hidden from end users.

“There will be a lot of different ways that users interact,” said Zuckerman, because “it’s really this identity layer for the internet, and there’s not one way you interact with the internet.”

To explain what was meant by an identity layer for the internet, Zuckerman began with the “top-down mechanism” of the analog world, in which the government defines an individual’s identity in a limited number of ways: a passport number, a national identification number, a Social Security number, a driver’s license number. The specifics depend on the jurisdiction, but most people have one or two primary, officially sanctioned identifiers.

The web, by contrast, is a free-for-all.

“With the internet there started to be all kinds of other identity systems, typical username and password – basically anything where you identify who you are and create an account – and so there was this proliferation of many, many identities,” Zuckerman said. “And that started having user data captured in lots of different places, not under their control.”

And for many blockchain enthusiasts, that just doesn’t make sense. On the one hand, these multiple identities are challenging for everyone to juggle (without being subject to security slip-ups). On the other hand, allowing a single, centralized party take over digital identity is not ideal either.

Rather, uPort’s idea is to put users in charge of holding and, if they choose, sharing the data associated with their identity, using the same cryptographic protocols that allow them to control cryptocurrency without the need for a third party. And this goal is frequently called “self-sovereign identity.”

A crowded space

UPort is far from the only project working towards the goal of self-sovereign identity using blockchain technology.

The Sovrin Foundation is one of the most prominent examples of uPort’s competition.

The foundation is behind Project Indy, a set of identity tools launched last year by the Hyperledger consortium. In contrast to public, permissionless uPort, Indy is a hybrid: anyone can view the ledger, but writing to it requires permission. Also in contrast to uPort, Project Indy is planning an ICO.

Civic, which plans to fully roll out its identity platform later this year on RSK, a layer-two bitcoin smart contracts platform, recently raised $30 million in an ICO.

Microsoft and Accenture have unveiled an identity prototype that uses a private, permissioned version of ethereum.

Meanwhile, developers on the public ethereum network are working on a standard for tokenized identity. Called ERC-725, the standard is being spearheaded by Fabian Vogelsteller, the creator of the ERC-20 standard that powered a boom in the crowdsale of crypto tokens.

Finally, the team at Digital Bazaar – which has been working with the World Wide Web Consortium, a standards body – has launched an experimental “testnet” version of a blockchain-based identity solution called Veres One. Like uPort, it is public, permissionless and lacks a token of its own. Unlike ethereum-based uPort, however, it is a freestanding blockchain.

The risk of having all of these divergent, competing standards for blockchain-based identity is that they will recreate the current system: fragmented and siloed.

But most of these projects’ teams, including uPort’s, are aware of the risk and working with different standards bodies to try and build an interoperable system. UPort, for instance, joined the Decentralized Identity Foundation – which includes big names like Microsoft and Accenture, among others –  in order to develop a standard for everyone.

Heck underscored the importance of interoperability by citing the examples of WeChat, WhatsApp and Facebook Messenger. As impressive as these messaging apps’ userbases are, he said, “nothing really has replaced email.”

The reason, he continued, is that:

“Email’s the only universal thing which works across the world. You can send emails from anywhere to anyone. Everybody has something that’s compatible.”

Trying to go it alone is just bad business, he added, saying, “No solution that thinks they are winning now because they were earlier will win if they’re not on a joint standard.”

Momentum and roadblocks

And while all these solutions have made significant progress over the past year, uPort has a whole group of potential partners and clients in the various other “spokes” of ConsenSys. One of these spokes, Viant, is currently integrating uPort, while others – including OpenLaw, Meridio and Civil – are planning to do so.

Tyler Mulvihill, the co-founder of Viant, which plans to go live with its ethereum-based supply chain platform this year, told CoinDesk that using uPort as its identity solution was “a really easy decision,” not only because of the ConsenSys connection, but because “they’re leading the space in self-sovereign identity.”

Gnosis, a prediction market that was spun out of ConsenSys, used uPort to verify that each user was only submitting one entry to its Olympia tournament.

Outside of ConsenSys, Melonport, a decentralized asset manager based in Zug, Switzerland, is using uPort to perform know-your-customer and anti-money laundering (KYC/AML) checks.

But uPort’s most notable partnership is with the government of Zug itself, which is conducting a pilot program to register citizens’ IDs on ethereum. The first registry was completed in November, and the total is now over 200. The city government then announced a voting pilot using uPort last week.

Another pilot, in which uPort and Microsoft partnered with Brazil’s Ministry of Planning to verify notarized documents, began in June 2017. According to Heck, more such partnerships could follow.

“We are talking to other cities and governments at the moment – none of them we can talk about at this point,” he told CoinDesk.

In many respects, though, uPort has a long way to go.

The same questions that nag the ethereum ecosystem as a whole can make the way forward uncertain for uPort. How to scale the network to enable faster and cheaper transactions is a major hurdle.

Also important – arguably more so, given uPort’s focus on identity – is the question of how to protect users’ privacy when using a blockchain like ethereum, which is visible to anyone.

“Transparency in blockchain is obviously a feature,” said Zukerman, “but when it comes to personal data and identity data it’s a liability.”

Finally, there’s the question of what happens to a user who loses their private key, and with it, presumably, control over their digital lives. UPort has explored different solutions to this problem, starting with designating friends who can collectively vouch for a person and transfer the lost ID’s data over to a new public key. That was an ethereum-specific solution, though; the team is now working on a blockchain-agnostic one.

But still, even with these roadblocks, uPort has had no problem with its main goal, convincing developers to use its platform in their applications. Heck concluded:

“People come to us.”

Mirrors image via Shutterstock

The leader in blockchain news, CoinDesk is a media outlet that strives for the highest journalistic standards and abides by a strict set of editorial policies. CoinDesk is an independent operating subsidiary of Digital Currency Group, which invests in cryptocurrencies and blockchain startups.

https://www.coindesk.com/scramble-fix-digital-identity-uport-project-watch/

USI Tech transform your life with the easiest & most passive bitcoin investment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.